Land Of Hope And Glories (1981)


This album was totally radical, the first children’s rock concept musical theatre album that mentioned salvation, baptism, praise, Holy Spirit, healing, opposition, persecution, martyrdom and Heaven. Ishmael created the characters of the Glories and Miseries. The album contains various musical styles, but having just disbanded Rev Counta and the Speedoze a year earlier Ishmael shocked some by allowing a little of his punk / new wave influences to be included on this children’s album. But it was all done with Ishmael’s unique tongue in cheek humour. Listen to the track ‘Wots The Point’ and hear a lead guitar break played solely on one note! People loved it. There has never been, and probably never will be anything quite so ground breaking and revolutionary in children’s music and it set a foundation that future children’s ministries and musicians would build upon.


Track List
1) I’m Gonna Be A Glorie
2) I Ain’t No Drip – I Enjoy Getting Wet
3) Praise Away
4) It’s Amazin What Praisin Can Do
5) D Is For Dynamite
6) Healing Aid
7) Mora Glorie – Lessa Me
8) Lord We’ve Come
9) I Am A Miserie
10) Wot’s The Point
11) Dying To Live
12) Charisma
13) My Lord Is Higher
14) Young Head On Old Shoulders
15) Martyr’s Praise Song
16) Land Of Hope And Glories

Age Appropriate
This album is most suitable for children although adults also enjoyed it.

Additional information

Audio Format

Compact Disc, Digital Download