Songs For Little Troopers (1990)


Training up the Troops’ was exciting, very noisy and powerful, but like most of Ishmael’s previous albums the songs tended to be enjoyed more by those over the age of 7. What about the very little troopers, hardly anyone was writing songs for this age group at this time? Before the 90s, with a very few exceptions, Christian songs for the under 7s tended to be very twee with little or no Biblical content. Ishmael was convinced that even tinies had a capacity for understanding God at a deeper level. The need brought about this recording. He re-recorded the original ‘Glorie Song’ to remind these little ones that they could be Glories as well, then added new simple scripture songs, a version of the Lords Prayer and another version of ‘Father God I Wonder’. Other favourites proved to be ‘I Will Click My Fingers’ and,’5000+ Hungry Folk’. At last an album that ‘Early Years’ could also bounce along to.


Track List
1) I’m A Little Glorie (Instrumental)
2) Lord We’ve Come To Worship You
3) I Want To Learn About Jesus
4) 39, Thirty Nine
5) The Grasshopper Song
6) I Don’t Need To Be Big To Be Beautiful
7) Little Man
8) So If You Think You’re Standing Firm
9) 5000 + Hungry Folk
10) The Lord’s Prayer
11) Lord You Gave Me Joy In My Heart
12) I Will Click My Fingers
13) Down In A Noisy Small Valley
14) Lord I Want To Be A Glorie
15) There’s Nothing Better
16) The Lord’s Army
17) The Royal Prayer Force
18) Father God I Wonder
19) I’m A Little Glorie

Age Appropriate
This album is most suitable for younger children.

Additional information

Audio Format

Compact Disc, Digital Download